James Quackenbush, P.E., is Medspira’s CEO.  During his thirty year career, James has spent the majority of his time working in the medical device industry.  Most recently as Vice President of Manufacturing for Vascular Solutions Incorporated, originally an early stage medical device start-up that has grown to over $120MM in sales.  Prior to joining Vascular Solutions, James was Vice President of Operations and Manufacturing for Optical Sensors Incorporated an early stage point-of-care blood gas sensor company.  He also was employee number five and Head of Operations for a successful new division of Schneider (Boston Scientific) which developed, manufactured, and marketed an implantable stent.  James has BSIE from Iowa State University.

Technical Advisors

max fiore picture

Max Fiore, brings more than 30 years of experience in the medical device industry in a variety of product development, operations and R&D leadership roles. Currently as Chief Development and Operations Officer at NxThera. Prior to his current position he served as the Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer for American Medical Systems, a global leader in urology, from 2009-2013. Prior to AMS, Max held a variety of R&D and operations leadership roles at OmniSonics, Smith and Nephew, Aradigm, LifeScan, Abbott Diagnostics, Abbott Hospital Products, and Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. Max earned his BSEE and BSEng in Electrical and Electronics Engineering and Biomedical Engineering from Northwestern University, and his MSEE in Biomedical Instrumentation from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.


Dr. Franklyn Prendergast, MD., PhD is an emeritus Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology and Professor in the Department of Molecular Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics at Mayo Clinic Rochester. He received his Medical degree with honors from University of West Indies; Oxford University Rhodes Scholar BA and M.A. degree in physiology. After internal medicine residency at Mayo Clinic, he obtained the Ph.D. degree in biochemistry at University of Minnesota/Mayo Graduate School. He has held numerous leadership positions within Mayo Clinic: Chair, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology; Director for Research, Mayo Clinic Rochester,‘89-‘92. Member of the Board of Governors for Mayo Clinic in Rochester; Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees,‘92-‘09; Mayo Clinic’s Board of Governors, ‘99-‘06. Mayo Distinguished Investigator, Emeritus Director of the Mayo Clinic Comprehensive Cancer Center and Emeritus Director of Mayo Center for Individualized Medicine. Extramurally, he has served extensively for the National Institutes of Health, Board of Advisors for Division of Research Grants; National Advisory General Medical Sciences Council; Board of Scientific Advisors of National Cancer Institute; National Cancer Advisory Board. He currently serves on the Board of Directors for Cancer Genetics, Inc; Eli Lilly; International Medica Foundation and the Infectious Disease Research Institute.


Rolland Dickson, M. D., M.S., M.A.C.P., is the Emeritus Mary Lowell Leary Professor of Medicine at Mayo Medical School and Mayo Clinic.  He is the former Director of Development at Mayo Foundation for medical education and research.  Doctor Dickson has served in senior leadership positions at Mayo Clinic including Head of the Section of Gastroenterology, member of the Executive Committee of the Institutional Research Committee, and the Institutional Fiscal Committee.  He initiated the Liver Transplant Program at Mayo and served as its first director in 1985.  He has served as the Director of the International Activities Committee and was a member of the Board of Trustees at Mayo Foundation from 1999 until 2003.  His research interests have included mathematical models of liver transplantation as it relates to selection, timing, and complications.  He has been continually funded by the National Institutes of Health since 1986.  He is internationally recognized as an expert in liver disease and liver transplantation. His outside activities have included Chairman of the Board of the A. J. and Sigismunda Palumbo Charitable Foundation and serving as a member of the Board of Directors of Poniard Pharmaceutical Corporation, serving as its lead independent director.  Doctor Dickson has served as a member of the Scientific Advisory Board for Baxter International; as a member of the Board of Directors of Pathway Corporation; and as a member of the board of Axcan Pharmaceutical.  He also served as a member of the Scientific Advisory Board for Bay City Capital was a member of the Board of Directors of Dole Foods. Professional recognitions include the Distinguished Achievement Award in Clinical Research and Liver Disease presented by the American Gastroenterological Association in 1994 and Mayo Clinic Department of Medicine Research Achievement Award in 1998.  Doctor Dickson was honored in 2005 by receiving an honorary designation as Master in the American College of Physicians and in October of 2014 received Mayo Clinic’s Distinguished Alumni Award.  Doctor Dickson was the recipient of the Doctors Mayo Society Lifetime Achievement Award in October of 2015.

Thomas Vaughan, Ph.D., is a professor with tenure in the Departments of Radiology, Electrical Engineering and Biomedical Engineering at the University of Minnesota.  Dr Vaughan received his doctoral degree in Biomedical Engineering from the UAB in 1993, after which he accepted the positions of Assistant Professor at Harvard University and Assistant in Physics and Director of Engineering at the Massachusetts General Hospital NMR Center.  Dr. Vaughan holds 32 patents and is considered one of the world’s experts in this arena.

Recent Posts

American Society of Colon & Rectal Surgeons 2019

American Society of Colon & Rectal Surgeons 2019 Come visit us at the American Society of Colon & Rectal Surgeons  (ASCRS) Annual Scientific Meeting, Booth #727 Huntington Convention Center of Cleveland, Cleveland OH June 1st – 5th, 2019 About ASCRS With emphasis on...

Digestive Disease Week 2019

Digestive Disease Week 2019 Come visit us at Digestive Disease Week (DDW), Booth #3321 San Diego Convention Center, San Diego CA, May 18th – 21st, 2019 About DDW Recognized as one of the top 50 medical meetings by HCEA, Digestive Disease Week® (DDW) is the world's...

New York Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy 2018

Come visit us at the upcoming New York Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy (NYSGE) Annual Course, Booth # 608. New York Marriott Marquis Hotel, New York NY December 13th – 14th, 2018. About NYSGE The New York Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy (NYSGE) was...